NHS Advisor, Mr. Ondersma (far left) shown with all of Fennville High School's
National Honor Society members.
   Fennville High School held its annual induction ceremony for new National Honor Society (NHS) members on Thursday, November 18th in the High School library. Eleven new members joined the ranks of seven current members who were on hand for the ceremony.
   Juniors and seniors are selected for admission to the National Honor Society by demonstrating high academic performance. But scholarship isn't the only criterion for membership. In his welcoming remarks, Mr. Ondersma explained "the purpose of the National Honor Society is to create enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate the desire to render service, to promote leadership and to develop character." 
  Having met the academic requirements, a minimum grade point average of 3.25, prospective NHS members must be recommended by a selection committee made up of faculty members.
The committee evaluates each prospective candidate on the basis of his or her qualities of scholarship, leadership, character and service.
   There were many proud parents, relatives and friends in the audience to see the induction ceremony.
   Following the official induction ceremony, the new members joined the current members in reciting the NHS pledge:
I pledge myself to uphold the worthy purposes of the National Honor Society and always to seek the light of knowledge, to hold scholarly habits, to engage in worthy service and to lead boldly in all ways.
Here are the new inductees for 20010/11
Click on a picture to show an enlarged view
Nicole Bell Megan Walli Emily Schneider Rachael Shields Krysta VanDyke
Mitzi Crranza Heather Pitcher Alyssa Nelson Sierra Rodriguez Adrianna Hitsman
Jacob Garpow
Current members who were on hand for the ceremony were: Tobias Hutchins, Ashley Rachelle Wilson, Reid Sexton, Kayla Cross, Katie DeJonge, Aaron McKellips and Baltazar Nunez


Hit Counter